Dr. Stefan Rolf Huebner

Vita

Dr. Stefan Rolf Huebner studied Physics and Biophysics at Harvard University, USA, at the University of Oxford, England, and at the Technical University of Munich, Germany. He obtained his doctorate with work in the field of nanobiotechnology. Prior to specialising in intellectual property he was a management consultant at McKinsey & Co. in their high-tech practice, a research assistant at Munich’s university hospital, the Klinikum rechts der Isar, and a research fellow at Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Huebner is qualified both as a German patent attorney and as a European Patent and Trademark Attorney. He received his training in intellectual property law at the University of Munich and at the Max Planck Institute for Intellectual Property. He worked in patent law firms in Germany and Japan before setting up his own practice.

Main Areas of Activity

Dr. Huebner has more than 15 years of experience in the legal protection of intellectual property, focusing especially on patent-granting, opposition, nullity and infringement procedures and on the negotiation of licence agreements and development contracts. His main areas of scientific and technical expertise lie in medicine, biomedicine, physics, and materials science. He is one of the few acknowledged European experts in the field of nanotechnology patents.

His clients include several leading international technology enterprises and renowned research establishments. He is a specialist advisor to the European Patent Office, and teaches as a guest lecturer at the University of Hohenheim. His articles appear in leading specialised journals.

Dr. Stefan Rolf Huebner

Vita

Dr. Stefan Rolf Huebner hat Physik und Biophysik an der Harvard University, USA, der University of Oxford, England, und der Technischen Universität München studiert und mit einer Arbeit zur Nanobiotechnologie promoviert. Vor seiner Spezialisierung auf geistiges Eigentum war er Unternehmensberater bei McKinsey & Co. in der High-Tech Practice, Forschungsassistent am Klinikum rechts der Isar in München und Research Fellow an der Harvard Medical School, USA.

Dr. Huebner ist Patentanwalt und European Patent and Trademark Attorney. Seine Ausbildung im gewerblichen Rechtschutz hat er an der Universität München und am Max-Planck-Institut für Geistiges Eigentum erhalten. Bevor er sich niederließ, war er in Patentanwaltskanzleien in Deutschland und Japan tätig.

Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte

Dr. Huebner hat mehr als 15 Jahre Erfahrung im gewerblichen Rechtschutz mit einem Schwerpunkt bei Patenterteilungs-, Einspruchs-, Nichtigkeits- und Verletzungsverfahren und dem Aushandeln von Lizenz- und Entwicklungsverträgen. Seine naturwissenschaftlich-technischen Schwerpunkte liegen in der Medizin und Biomedizin, der Physik und den Materialwissenschaften. Er ist einer der wenigen anerkannten europäischen Experten auf dem Gebiet der Nanotechnologie-Patente.

Zu seinen Mandanten zählen mehrere international führende Technologie­unternehmen und namhafte Forschungseinrichtungen. Er berät das Europäische Patentamt als Sachverständiger und lehrt als Gastdozent an der Universität Hohenheim. Seine Aufsätze erscheinen in führenden Fachzeitschriften.